• Register your interest to attend 2018 today!

Oliver Schäfer is the President of SolarPower Europe (former European Photovoltaic Industry Association). He has over 15 years of experience in European affairs and renewable energy policy, including more than 7 years at SunPower Corporation. In the past, Schäfer worked as Policy Director for the European Renewable Energy Council and prior to that as the assistant of a European Parliament member.  Schäfer was elected President of SolarPower Europe in 2014. He holds a Master’s degree in Political Science and History from the University of Nuremberg.

Julian Popov is an ECF Fellow and has been an adviser to the ECF since 2008. As part of this role, he established a network of senior climate campaigners in eight new EU Member States, headed a project aimed at coaching editors of leading media on climate policy as well as a project seeking to raise policymakers’ attention to health and security implications of climate change. Julian currently leads the South East Europe Grid Initiative which catalyses high level energy policy cooperation among countries in wider South East Europe, including Turkey and the Western Balkans.

Julian is a former Minister of Environment of Bulgaria, the founding CEO and current Board Member of the New Bulgarian University, the former Chairman and current Board Member of the Bulgarian School of Politics and the co-founder of the Tunisian School of Politics. In 2014, he was appointed  as the Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Buildings Performance Institute Europe. He is Member of the Advisory Board of GridTech, Member of the Advisory Board of BETTER Project, Founding Member of the Governing Board of Sofia Platform, Member of the Steering Committee of Grantmakers East Forum and Honorary Treasurer and Director of the UK charity Friends of Bulgaria. Julian is the author of two books and writes regularly on current affairs and climate and energy policy.